It is a privilege for the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists to recognize excellence within the profession. NCAP members are invited to nominate deserving members for a variety of awards presented at our annual convention.



Presidential Awards

NCAP President's Award

NCPA and McKesson Leadership Award
The President's Award is presented each year to the President of NCAP to show our appreciation for the sacrifices they make to serve our profession at the highest level. The award has traditionally been a clock to help forever mark the time of their service.

The National Community Pharmacists Association Leadership Award, sponsored by NCPA and coordinated by the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA), and the McKesson Leadership Award, sponsored by McKesson, are both presented each year to the state pharmacy association's President-elect. These awards recognize the recipient for their leadership and dedication to the profession.




President's Service Award

 It has been an NCAP tradition, that each year the outgoing NCAP President may choose to recognize one to three members who really stood out in how they helped NCAP during the year of their presidency. This year, President Matt Kelm opted to recognize these three individuals with the 2022 President's Service Award.


Distinguished Awards

ASHP Leadership Award

The NCAP Health-System Practice Academy Chair serves as our state's official affiliate for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Each year ASHP recognizes the dedication, leadership and volunteer service of the NCAP Health-System Practice Academy Chair.

Bowl of Hygeia Award

Established in 1958, the Bowl of Hygeia Award, sponsored by NASPA, recognizes pharmacists who possess outstanding records of civic leadership in their communities and encourages pharmacists to take active roles in their communities and the profession. The Bowl of Hygeia is the most widely recognized international symbol for the pharmacy profession and considered one of the profession’s most prestigious awards.  Each year NCAP presents the Bowl of Hygeia Award to a pharmacist who has compiled a record of outstanding service to his/her community and profession.

Dale Jones Memorial Award

This award is presented to a member of the Chronic Care Practice Academy for excellence in the care of older adults, strong community service, commitment to ongoing professional development, support of the state pharmacy association.

Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award

The Distinguished Young Pharmacist award was created in 1987 to encourage newer pharmacists to become involved in association activities and community service. This prestigious national award recognizes a pharmacist, in the first decade of their career, in each state, for individual excellence, leadership, and outstanding contributions to the profession of pharmacy. The Distinguished Young Pharmacist award is sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual.

Don Blanton Memorial Award

The Don Blanton Award, sponsored by the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists was established by Charlie Blanton in memory of his father, Don Blanton, who served as NCPhA President in 1957-58. Today, NCAP continues the prestige and tradition of this award by bestowing upon the pharmacist who has contributed the most to the advancement of pharmacy in North Carolina during the past year.

Excellence in Innovation Award

The Excellence in Innovation Award, sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories and coordinated by the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations, was introduced in 1993 as a way to honor innovative and proactive approaches to enhanced patient care. This national award is presented to a pharmacist in each state for demonstrating significant innovation, which results in improved patient care, in their respective pharmacy practice.

Student Pharmacist of the Year

This award recognizes a student pharmacist for their outstanding service to the profession through their volunteer involvement with the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists.

Technician of the Year

Presented to a technician practicing in North Carolina who has demonstrated: an ongoing ( > 5 years) dedication to their role as a pharmacy technician; exemplary service and compassion in the care of patients; outstanding support to their co-workers; and a commitment to the advancement of technician professional development.

Ambassador Award

Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award

Legislative Champion Award

Presented to an NC pharmacist who has served at the highest level of leadership for a national pharmacy association.

Presented to a pharmacist who has demonstrated excellence in community-based prescription
drug abuse prevention.

This award recognizes an individual who have made far-reaching and substained contributions in advancing the profession of pharmacy through legislation.


Academy Awards

The Academy Awards are presented to pharmacists with immense moral character, good citizenship, and high professional ideals, who have made significant contributions to their area of practice. These contributions shall have been in the form of sustained exemplary service or an outstanding single achievement